Catching up 

I’ll admit it! In so many ways I’m impulsive but, equally, I’m a procrastinator par excellence. 

I’ll update this blog tomorrow, this weekend, at the end of this month….and here we are. Time to take up the quill again and fill in some gaps. 

The last time I was here, I was learning how to make winding stems by hand, with a view to passing my first exam. The stems got more complicated, the tolerances got smaller and my skills improved to the point where, I’m pleased to say, I passed! Chalk it up. 


And there it is. Precision made on a hand lathe to tolerances of a few microns. Doesn’t look like much does it? I consider it quite the achievement for somebody who hadn’t looked at a lathe in the 30 years since high school. I’m on my way to calling myself a watchmaker

Leave a Reply

